Know more

Our use of cookies

Cookies are a set of data stored on a user’s device when the user browses a web site. The data is in a file containing an ID number, the name of the server which deposited it and, in some cases, an expiry date. We use cookies to record information about your visit, language of preference, and other parameters on the site in order to optimise your next visit and make the site even more useful to you.

To improve your experience, we use cookies to store certain browsing information and provide secure navigation, and to collect statistics with a view to improve the site’s features. For a complete list of the cookies we use, download “Ghostery”, a free plug-in for browsers which can detect, and, in some cases, block cookies.

Ghostery is available here for free:

You can also visit the CNIL web site for instructions on how to configure your browser to manage cookie storage on your device.

In the case of third-party advertising cookies, you can also visit the following site:, offered by digital advertising professionals within the European Digital Advertising Alliance (EDAA). From the site, you can deny or accept the cookies used by advertising professionals who are members.

It is also possible to block certain third-party cookies directly via publishers:

Cookie type

Means of blocking

Analytical and performance cookies

Google Analytics

Targeted advertising cookies


The following types of cookies may be used on our websites:

Mandatory cookies

Functional cookies

Social media and advertising cookies

These cookies are needed to ensure the proper functioning of the site and cannot be disabled. They help ensure a secure connection and the basic availability of our website.

These cookies allow us to analyse site use in order to measure and optimise performance. They allow us to store your sign-in information and display the different components of our website in a more coherent way.

These cookies are used by advertising agencies such as Google and by social media sites such as LinkedIn and Facebook. Among other things, they allow pages to be shared on social media, the posting of comments, and the publication (on our site or elsewhere) of ads that reflect your centres of interest.

Our EZPublish content management system (CMS) uses CAS and PHP session cookies and the New Relic cookie for monitoring purposes (IP, response times).

These cookies are deleted at the end of the browsing session (when you log off or close your browser window)

Our EZPublish content management system (CMS) uses the XiTi cookie to measure traffic. Our service provider is AT Internet. This company stores data (IPs, date and time of access, length of the visit and pages viewed) for six months.

Our EZPublish content management system (CMS) does not use this type of cookie.

For more information about the cookies we use, contact INRA’s Data Protection Officer by email at or by post at:

24, chemin de Borde Rouge –Auzeville – CS52627
31326 Castanet Tolosan CEDEX - France

Dernière mise à jour : Mai 2018

Menu Logo Principal UB AgroSup CNRS


Mycorrhiza : mechanisms and management

Mycorrhiza : mechanisms and management

Team Leader : Daniel WIPF

The research focus of our group is the understanding of the interactions between plants and microorganisms (e.g. symbiotic fungi, oomycetes …) that contribute to the improvement of the plant fitness (nutrition, defense/resistance to pathogens or to biotic stress such as drought or heavy metals). Our research works is organized at various integrating levels.

At the plant cell level, we are interested in the early signaling pathways triggered by molecules from microorganisms (mutualistic and pathogenic). Our work aims to explore the lateral segregation of lipids and proteins (e.g NADPH producer, transporters) into plasma membrane domains and to identify the cell determinants of such segregation in order to understand its role in the signaling pathways. In addition, we are analyzing the role of intracellular trafficking to and from the plasma membrane, in particular the clathrin-mediated endocytosis, in the signaling. Finally, we are interested in knowing how signaling lipids and reactive oxygen species produced by NAPHP oxidases contribute to the early steps of defense signaling.

At the biotrophic interface, our research work focuses on the arbuscular mycorrhizal (AM) symbiosis, formed between the majority of land plants and the most common group of mycorrhizal fungi of the phylum glomeromycota. Our interests are in understanding the establishment and functioning of the mutualistic symbiosis mainly at the nutrient exchange level (transportome). We particularly aim at identifying and selecting sugar transporters from plant, and analyzing sugar flows along the plant and through the plasma membrane that may impact in the outcome of the plant-microbe interaction. We are also interested in fungus monosaccharide transporters that would allow direct uptake of sugars from the soil. Moreover, we also study AM formation in combined phosphate and nitrogen limited conditions allowing an altered profile of plant defense genes, very likely through the activation of NADPH oxidases.

Consequently, we also investigate how to actually use the mutualistic interaction practically in the field for optimizing the provided ecosystemic services. Indeed, establishment of an AM community through mycelia network can significantly increase nutrient absorption in starved soils, as well as water absorption and resistance to pathogens or heavy metals, therefore allowing the reduction of the application of chemical fertilizers and pesticides.

Our main model for signaling pathway and defense in pathogenic interaction is tobacco cells elicited by cryptogein secreted by the oomycete Phytophthora cryptogea. Our main symbiosis model is the association Medicago truncatula/Rhizophagus irregularis, but we also work on various plants of agronomical interest such as grape.


C. Arnould IE INRAE

L. Bonneau MC UB

K. Bouhidel MC UB

P.E. Courty CR INRAE

C. Der IE UB

N. El Mjiyad AT INRAE

J. Fromentin AI INRAE

P. Gerbeau-Pissot MC UB

N. Leborgne-Castel PR UB

V. Monfort-Pimet  AT INRAE

G. Recorbet CR INRAE

F. Robert TR INRAE


D. van Tuinen CR INRAE